S’informer pour voyager sereinement

Avec son mélange unique de peuples, de climats, de paysages, de religions et d’influences culturelles, l’Inde est un pays à part. Inspirant, émouvant et même parfois un brin exaspérant. Le secret d’un séjour réussi en Inde ? Avoir l’esprit ouvert et éviter les comparaisons avec d’autres destinations ou cultures. Nous avons rédigé ces conseils de voyage pour vous aider à préparer vos vacances et à en profiter pleinement.

Manière d'aller

sasa

Prenez des précautions d’hygiène

close

Prenez des précautions d’hygiène

Consultez votre médecin avant votre voyage pour connaître les vaccins nécessaires. Vous êtes responsable de souscrire une assurance médicale (recommandé). Si vous suivez un traitement, nous vous conseillons également d’emmener davantage de comprimés que nécessaire et de noter vos allergies et antécédents médicaux sur un papier facilement accessible.

wedding

Informez-vous sur les coutumes locales

close

Informez-vous sur les coutumes locales

L’Inde, le Népal et le Bhoutan sont des pays séculiers où des peuples de différentes confessions et religions vivent en harmonie. Il y a des coutumes et des traditions religieuses à connaître lorsque nous voyageons dans ces pays. En général, il est d’usage de porter des vêtements simples, d’enlever ses chaussures pour entrer dans un lieu saint et de se couvrir la tête en signe de respect pour certaines occasions.

Dites « non » aux mendiants

close

Dites « non » aux mendiants

Même si cela peut vous peiner, ne donnez pas l’aumône aux mendiants. Si vous souhaitez les aider, vous pouvez faire un don à une association agréée ou à une cuisine gratuite (ou langar) au sein d’un temple ou d’un gurudwara.

Nourriture et boisson

close

Nourriture et boisson

La cuisine indienne est célèbre dans le monde entier pour sa diversité et ses saveurs très riches. Des en-cas épicés aux currys savoureux en passant par les gourmandises sucrées, de nombreux plats délicieux vous attendent. Il est toutefois préférable de faire attention. Buvez uniquement de l’eau en bouteille et évitez les plats à base de fruits et légumes crus, à moins que ce soit dans un restaurant ou un hôtel réputé. Écoutez votre corps afin de ne pas trop manger.

Apprenez quelques mots locaux

close

Apprenez quelques mots locaux

L’anglais est couramment utilisé et compris dans le sous-continent indien. Apprendre quelques mots ou phrases de base dans la langue du pays vous aidera néanmoins à communiquer avec la population locale.

Essayez de négocier

close

Essayez de négocier

Les marchés du sous-continent indien sont parfaits pour tester vos talents de négociateur. Informez-vous et vérifiez le prix d’un même article dans différentes boutiques, puis essayez de négocier pour obtenir le meilleur prix. Les marchands apprécient eux aussi ces moments d’échange. Notez que cette tradition ne s’applique pas aux grandes enseignes, où les prix sont fixes.

Devise

close

Devise

En Inde, la devise est la roupie indienne ; au Bhoutan, c’est le ngultrum ; et au Népal, la roupie népalaise. Le ngultrum bhoutanais a la même valeur que la roupie indienne, qui est d’ailleurs acceptée dans tout le pays.

Pourboires

close

Pourboires

Les pourboires sont facultatifs et laissés à votre discrétion. Néanmoins, s’agissant d’un signe de satisfaction, les chauffeurs, bagagistes, serveurs, portiers, etc. s’attendent généralement à en recevoir un.

Électricité

close

Électricité

En inde, au Népal et au Bhoutan, le voltage est de 220/240 V, avec des prises rondes à deux et trois broches. Veuillez prévoir les adaptateurs appropriés pour tous vos appareils électriques. Lorsque cela est possible, il est également recommandé d’emmener des appareils fonctionnant sur batterie ainsi que des batteries supplémentaires.

Prenez des précautions d’hygiène

close

Prenez des précautions d’hygiène

Consultez votre médecin avant votre voyage pour connaître les vaccins nécessaires. Vous êtes responsable de souscrire une assurance médicale (recommandé). Si vous suivez un traitement, nous vous conseillons également d’emmener davantage de comprimés que nécessaire et de noter vos allergies et antécédents médicaux sur un papier facilement accessible.

Download Tips

Informez-vous sur les coutumes locales

close

Informez-vous sur les coutumes locales

L’Inde, le Népal et le Bhoutan sont des pays séculiers où des peuples de différentes confessions et religions vivent en harmonie. Il y a des coutumes et des traditions religieuses à connaître lorsque nous voyageons dans ces pays. En général, il est d’usage de porter des vêtements simples, d’enlever ses chaussures pour entrer dans un lieu saint et de se couvrir la tête en signe de respect pour certaines occasions.

Download Tips

Dites « non » aux mendiants

close

Dites « non » aux mendiants

Même si cela peut vous peiner, ne donnez pas l’aumône aux mendiants. Si vous souhaitez les aider, vous pouvez faire un don à une association agréée ou à une cuisine gratuite (ou langar) au sein d’un temple ou d’un gurudwara.

Download Tips

Nourriture et boisson

close

Nourriture et boisson

La cuisine indienne est célèbre dans le monde entier pour sa diversité et ses saveurs très riches. Des en-cas épicés aux currys savoureux en passant par les gourmandises sucrées, de nombreux plats délicieux vous attendent. Il est toutefois préférable de faire attention. Buvez uniquement de l’eau en bouteille et évitez les plats à base de fruits et légumes crus, à moins que ce soit dans un restaurant ou un hôtel réputé. Écoutez votre corps afin de ne pas trop manger.

Download Tips

Apprenez quelques mots locaux

close

Apprenez quelques mots locaux

L’anglais est couramment utilisé et compris dans le sous-continent indien. Apprendre quelques mots ou phrases de base dans la langue du pays vous aidera néanmoins à communiquer avec la population locale.

Download Tips

Essayez de négocier

close

Essayez de négocier

Les marchés du sous-continent indien sont parfaits pour tester vos talents de négociateur. Informez-vous et vérifiez le prix d’un même article dans différentes boutiques, puis essayez de négocier pour obtenir le meilleur prix. Les marchands apprécient eux aussi ces moments d’échange. Notez que cette tradition ne s’applique pas aux grandes enseignes, où les prix sont fixes.

Download Tips

Devise

close

Devise

En Inde, la devise est la roupie indienne ; au Bhoutan, c’est le ngultrum ; et au Népal, la roupie népalaise. Le ngultrum bhoutanais a la même valeur que la roupie indienne, qui est d’ailleurs acceptée dans tout le pays.

Download Tips

Pourboires

close

Pourboires

Les pourboires sont facultatifs et laissés à votre discrétion. Néanmoins, s’agissant d’un signe de satisfaction, les chauffeurs, bagagistes, serveurs, portiers, etc. s’attendent généralement à en recevoir un.

Download Tips

Électricité

close

Électricité

En inde, au Népal et au Bhoutan, le voltage est de 220/240 V, avec des prises rondes à deux et trois broches. Veuillez prévoir les adaptateurs appropriés pour tous vos appareils électriques. Lorsque cela est possible, il est également recommandé d’emmener des appareils fonctionnant sur batterie ainsi que des batteries supplémentaires.

Download Tips
SEE ALL


Bienvenue a bord!

Scroll Top
Scroll Top

Travel Intelligence

India is completely different from any other country with its diverse mix of peoples, climates, scenery, religions, and cultural influences. It can be inspiring, moving and, at times even infuriating. In order to enjoy your tour to the maximum, do go with an open mind; and perhaps without drawing comparisons with any other destination or culture. We have prepared these travel tips to help you with your pre-holiday planning, and also for after you arrive in India.

Way to go

Prepare your documents

close

Prepare your documents

All foreign nationals are required to hold a national passport with a valid visa for the destination(s) you are visiting. For more information about the documents you need and the process to follow, visit the relevant Government online portals for Visa Application.

sasa

Take health precautions

close

Take health precautions

Visit your doctor before you travel for all relevant vaccinations/immunizations. Medical insurance coverage is recommended and is your responsibility. It is a good idea to carry an extra set of your prescribed medication (if any) and keep handy a ready list of allergies and other relevant information regarding your health.

wedding

Be mindful of local customs

close

Be mindful of local customs

India, Nepal and Bhutan are secular countries where people following different faiths and religions live in harmony. There are some local customs and religions sentiments you need to be mindful of when travelling; a modest dress code in general, removing shoes when entering religious places, covering your head as a mark of respect on some occasions, and being aware of local etiquette, is appreciated.

Say “No” to pan handlers

close

Say “No” to pan handlers

Do not give alms to pan handlers, no matter how hard it might be. The urge to donate or feed the hungry stomachs can be satisfied by a registered charity or at free kitchen (langar) of any temple or Gurudwara.

F&B tips

close

F&B tips

Indian cuisine is famous worldwide for its rich taste and diversity. There is a lot to discover; from spicy snacks to rich curries to sweet delicacies. However, pace yourself and pay attention to always drink bottled mineral water and avoid cut fruits and salads, unless you are at a reputed restaurant or hotel. take care of your appetite to avoid over eating. Also, keep track of water intake and always use packaged mineral water.

Learn some local words

close

Learn some local words

English is a commonly used and understood language throughout the Indian subcontinent. However, familiarising yourself with a couple of commonly used words or phrases will help in communicating with local people.

Try Bargaining

close

Try Bargaining

Local markets of the Indian subcontinent are the best platform to test your bargaining skills. Always do some research and check the price for the same item at different shops and then try bargaining to get the best price. The vendors expect you to bargain and it is a fun experience for them as well. This bargaining however does not apply to the bigger stores where there is a fixed price.

Currency

close

Currency

In India, the local currency is Indian Rupee, in Bhutan – it is Ngultrum and in Nepal – it is the Nepali rupee. The Ngultrum in Bhutan is equal in value to the Indian Rupee and Indian Rupees are accepted everywhere in Bhutan.

Tipping

close

Tipping

Tipping is entirely at your discretion and not compulsory, however, on more than one occasions, the person providing you a service (driver, bell boy, waiter, porter, etc.) would expect a tip which would mean you liked his services.

Voltage

close

Voltage

Electrical current in India, Nepal and Bhutan is 220/240 volts, with a circular two pin and three pin power outlets. For all electrical appliances that you bring with you, please carry the appropriate adapters. It is also recommended that you take battery-operated appliances where possible, along with a supply of extra batteries.

Prepare your documents

close

Prepare your documents

All foreign nationals are required to hold a national passport with a valid visa for the destination(s) you are visiting. For more information about the documents you need and the process to follow, visit the relevant Government online portals for Visa Application.

Take health precautions

close

Take health precautions

Visit your doctor before you travel for all relevant vaccinations/immunizations. Medical insurance coverage is recommended and is your responsibility. It is a good idea to carry an extra set of your prescribed medication (if any) and keep handy a ready list of allergies and other relevant information regarding your health.

Be mindful of local customs

close

Be mindful of local customs

India, Nepal and Bhutan are secular countries where people following different faiths and religions live in harmony. There are some local customs and religions sentiments you need to be mindful of when travelling; a modest dress code in general, removing shoes when entering religious places, covering your head as a mark of respect on some occasions, and being aware of local etiquette, is appreciated.

Say “No” to pan handlers

close

Say “No” to pan handlers

Do not give alms to pan handlers, no matter how hard it might be. The urge to donate or feed the hungry stomachs can be satisfied by a registered charity or at free kitchen (langar) of any temple or Gurudwara.

F&B tips

close

F&B tips

Indian cuisine is famous worldwide for its rich taste and diversity. There is a lot to discover; from spicy snacks to rich curries to sweet delicacies. However, pace yourself and pay attention to always drink bottled mineral water and avoid cut fruits and salads, unless you are at a reputed restaurant or hotel. take care of your appetite to avoid over eating. Also, keep track of water intake and always use packaged mineral water.

Learn some local words

close

Learn some local words

English is a commonly used and understood language throughout the Indian subcontinent. However, familiarising yourself with a couple of commonly used words or phrases will help in communicating with local people.

Try Bargaining

close

Try Bargaining

Local markets of the Indian subcontinent are the best platform to test your bargaining skills. Always do some research and check the price for the same item at different shops and then try bargaining to get the best price. The vendors expect you to bargain and it is a fun experience for them as well. This bargaining however does not apply to the bigger stores where there is a fixed price.

Currency

close

Currency

In India, the local currency is Indian Rupee, in Bhutan – it is Ngultrum and in Nepal – it is the Nepali rupee. The Ngultrum in Bhutan is equal in value to the Indian Rupee and Indian Rupees are accepted everywhere in Bhutan.

Tipping

close

Tipping

Tipping is entirely at your discretion and not compulsory, however, on more than one occasions, the person providing you a service (driver, bell boy, waiter, porter, etc.) would expect a tip which would mean you liked his services.

Voltage

close

Voltage

Electrical current in India, Nepal and Bhutan is 220/240 volts, with a circular two pin and three pin power outlets. For all electrical appliances that you bring with you, please carry the appropriate adapters. It is also recommended that you take battery-operated appliances where possible, along with a supply of extra batteries.

SEE ALL

Welcome on board!

Scroll Top
Scroll Top